Add a project for a client

Click a tab below to view instructions for adding a project from either the Clients setup or Projects screen.


You can quickly add a project to an existing client or a new client. Click Projects in the menu bar and then click Add. A simplified view of the Add Client and Add Project screens is combined in one location.

  • Add a project to an existing client: Click the Existing Existing button. When you choose a client from the list, Onvio pulls in their information. In the Add Project section, select an existing template or scroll through the template list and click Add Project Template. If you need to add information to fields that are not currently displayed, click View Full Project Setup.
  • Add a project to a new client: Click the New New button and add the required information. You can click View Full Client Setup to add information to fields that are not currently displayed. After you add client information, add project information in the Add Project section. Select an existing template or scroll through the template list and click Add Project Template. If you need to add information to fields that are not currently displayed, click View Full Project Setup.

    Note: The Contact field is required and defaults to the primary contact of the client.

Click Save and Close to return to your project list or click Save and Open to open the project in its associated application. If there isn't an associated application, you'll be returned to your project list. From the list, you can edit and delete projects , and mark projects (and tasks, if available) as complete .


Follow these steps to add a project on the Clients setup screen.

  1. If you haven't already done so, set up a template for the project. See Project templates for more information.
  2. Click Setup > Clients.
  3. Click Edit Edit next to the client's name.
  4. Click the Projects tab.
  5. Click Add.
  6. On the General subtab of the Add Project screen, select a template from the Project Template field. Onvio pulls in the project information from the template. You can manually change some of the project information except for fields that are read-only.

    Note: The Contact field is required and defaults to the primary contact of the client.

  7. Click Save.

The new project will appear in the client's project list.

From the Projects tab in Clients setup, you can edit and delete projects , and mark projects (and tasks, if available) as complete . If the project is associated with an application, click the project name, which is displayed as a hyperlink, to open the project within the application.

The availability of some or all of these features depends on the applications your firm has licensed and the permissions your firm’s administrator has enabled for you.

Internal Employees: Submit HHTC feedback


Was this article helpful?